Sausage, Egg, and Cheese Breakfast Taquitos

31 Jul

I am all about breakfast for dinner.  Love it.  I usually only get a good breakfast if we get out early enough on the weekend, which is very rare, so having it for breakfast lets me get that yummy food whenever I want.  Plus it is a great dinner idea for those on a budget (which we are!)  This time I decided to do a kind of What-A-Burger taquito copy cat recipe.  If I do say so myself, they tasted VERY similar to them!  Yummy.  My husband really liked it.  My daughter, well, she has given up eating all together it seems like.  She goes through phases.

Image

Ingredients:

  • Flour tortillas
  • 8 eggs-this was for three of us.  I used a generous amount because it is dinner.
  • Half pound of breakfast sausage
  • Shredded cheese (your favorite is fine, I used Colby-jack)
  • Milk
  • Salt and pepper
  • Hash browns-for side if you wish

Directions:

  1. Cook the sausage until done.
  2. I crack the eggs into bowl first, add a little milk and salt and pepper.  Once mixed, pour over the sausage to cook.  Folding gently while it’s cooking.
  3. When the eggs start to firm a little, I start adding cheese.  I keep adding a little bit at a time until the eggs are finished.  The eggs should not look dried out.  Once they start looking a little less wet and runny, they are done.  I HATE over done scrambled eggs.
  4. Warm tortillas in microwave or however you prefer.  Put mixture in center of tortilla, top with some more cheese, and roll.  Add hash browns as your side if you chose to.

Great, easy, cheap dinner.  Plus it tasted so much like What-A-Burger!!  A+

Source:  I didn’t get this one from anywhere, just something we like to do.

Leave a Reply

