Tuna Casserole

31 Jul

Now, I know this sounds weird.  I almost hate calling it that because people usually cringe when they hear that name.  Kind of like fruit cake or something.  But there is always a reason why I try new recipes and usually it has to do with a surplus of ingredients in my pantry or fridge.  I like to use what I have and only buy what I need.  Cuts down on waste and your grocery bill.  So as you might have guess, I have a surplus of canned tuna because my awesome mom likes to bring us food spontaneously from Costco.  We call her the chicken fairy.  Anyway I thought I would get creative with the use of the tuna and not just do tuna sandwiches.  So I searched for a long time for a casserole that did not sound like complete vomit, because honestly, a lot of them do.  So here is the one I used.

Image

Ingredients:

  • box of pasta, cooked
  • 2 cans of tuna, drained
  • 1 can cream of chicken soup
  • 1 cup shredded Cheddar cheese
  • 1 lg. container of French’s fried onions

Directions:

  1. Preheat over to 350 degrees.
  2. Coat a 9×13 dish with cooking spray.
  3. Combine pasta, tuna, and soup.  Mix well and top with Cheddar cheese.
  4. Bake for 25 minutes or until bubbly.  Sprinkle with fried onions and bake for an additional 5-10 minutes.

So the recipe I adapted this from called for 1 can of tuna and my man likes meat so I added 2 cans of tuna.  Good thing I did.  It needed it.  And use good tuna if you have it.  I had some low quality tuna and it could have tasted better.  Also, if I make this again I think I would add two cans of soup.  Might even change it to another kind of soup like golden mushroom or something like that.  I liked it, it was not terrible.  I even got some more, but it was not my favorite.  I think with the changes I mentioned above it might be better.  Also, this is not a good recipe to bring to work and heat up in the microwave.  The onions got mushy my husband said.  It does make plenty to have for left overs another night which is great for the budget, but for sure heat in the oven.

Source: Adapted from-http://allrecipes.com/recipe/easy-tuna-casserole/

Leave a Reply

